About | Our History

On August 19, 1909 the first edition of the Biggar World rolled off the presses with H. Dillingham as editor. In 1910 Dillingham sold the newspaper to W. J. Huntingford who rechristened it The Biggar Independent, a name which continues a 100 year tradition of conveying local news to subscribers.

In 1912, D.J. Stuart apprenticed with H. C. Skinner who purchased The Independent in 1914, a time when every stick of type was handset. In 1921 a modern linotype (which set type mechanically) and an efficient fl at bed press was purchased.
Bill and Kay Morphy were publishers of The Independent from 1956-1974. At this time a new two-unit web offset press was purchased. This hot-type letterpress method of producing a newspaper was the latest in technology. In 1974, The Independent was purchased by Terry and Cheryl Coombs. During this time the presses were sold and the printing of the paper was outsourced.

Jack Hamilton purchased the paper in 1978. During his time computerized typesetting equipment was installed. In 1989, then owners, Daryl and Margaret Hasein, purchased the newspaper. As past publishers before them, they also purchased new equipment. At this time a desktop publishing system was implemented which further streamlined the operation.

Present owners Dale and Trudy Buxton took over in October of 2019, a few years after The Independent made a move to Main Street in Biggar. With experience in a multitude of fields, they have been successfully running their own businesses for over 30 years. Dale and Trudy's transition into ownership and publicists for The Biggar Independent sets a strong foot forward for Biggar's local news.

The Biggar Independent has been the recipient of many awards on both the provincial and national level. The various publishers have served on the Board of Directors of the Saskatchewan Weekly Newspapers Association and the Canadian Community Newspapers Association. While proud of these accomplishments our commitment remains to covering local news.

Meet Our Team

Dale Buxton

Owner | Publisher

Trudy Buxton


Kevin Brautigam


Fallon Neugebauer


Kenneth Wilson

Paper Delivery